Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Deuel County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Clear Lake is the Seat for Deuel County.

Deuel County was founded in 1862 and was created by taking area from BrookingsCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Deuel had a population of 4,203 people. This is a decrease of 6.56% since the last Census (which gave a population of 4,498 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Deuel represented 0.6% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 39th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20104,364-2.98%+3.83% since 2009
20094,203-6.56%-0.71% since 2008
20084,233-5.89%+0.74% since 2007
20004,498The Last Census

More information can be found on the Deuel County Census Page for Deuel County.


Below are some of the communities located in Deuel County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Deuel County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Clear Lake   1,1921,33510.71% decrease  
Gary   20023113.42% decrease  
Toronto   17020215.84% decrease  
Goodwin   1451609.38% decrease  
Astoria   12915014% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Communities in South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation