Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Jones County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Murdo is the Seat for Jones County.

Jones County was founded in 1916 and was created by taking area from LymanCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Jones had a population of 1,037 people. This is a decrease of 13.08% since the last Census (which gave a population of 1,193 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Jones represented 0.16% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 66th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20101,006-15.67%-2.99% since 2009
20091,037-13.08%+2.17% since 2008
20081,015-14.92%-2.4% since 2007
20001,193The Last Census

More information can be found on the Jones County Census Page for Jones County.


Below are some of the communities located in Jones County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Jones County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Murdo   53361212.91% decrease  
Draper   819211.96% decrease  
Central Jones   606913.04% decrease  
North Jones   424812.5% decrease  
Grandview   182114.29% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Communities in South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation