Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Lyman County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Kennebec is the Seat for Lyman County.

Lyman County was founded in 1873.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Lyman had a population of 3,891 people. This is a decrease of 0.1% since the last Census (which gave a population of 3,895 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Lyman represented 0.52% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 43rd most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20103,755-3.59%-3.5% since 2009
20093,891-0.1%+2.15% since 2008
20083,809-2.21%-1.86% since 2007
20003,895The Last Census

More information can be found on the Lyman County Census Page for Lyman County.


Below are some of the communities located in Lyman County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Lyman County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Lower Brule   1,2851,3333.6% decrease  
Presho   6335887.65% increase  
Oacoma   46839020% increase  
Kennebec   2802862.1% decrease  
South Lyman   2422276.61% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Cities, Towns and Villages of South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation