Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Jackson County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Kadoka is the Seat for Jackson County.

Jackson County was founded in 1914 and was created by taking area from StanleyCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Jackson had a population of 2,658 people. This is a decrease of 9.28% since the last Census (which gave a population of 2,930 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Jackson represented 0.39% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 50th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20103,031+3.45%+14.03% since 2009
20082,660-9.22%-3.13% since 2007
20002,930The Last Census

More information can be found on the Jackson County Census Page for Jackson County.


Below are some of the communities located in Jackson County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Jackson County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Southwest Jackson   1,2681,3838.32% decrease  
Kadoka   62370611.76% decrease  
East Jackson   2072289.21% decrease  
Southeast Jackson   19721910.05% decrease  
Northwest Jackson   107998.08% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Search for a South Dakota Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation