Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Hanson County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Alexandria is the Seat for Hanson County.

Hanson County was founded in 1873. Hanson was created by taking area from Buffalo and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Hanson had a population of 3,553 people. This is an increase of 13.19% since the last Census (which gave a population of 3,139 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Hanson represented 0.42% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 48th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20103,331+6.12%-6.25% since 2009
20093,553+13.19%-0.86% since 2008
20003,139The Last Census

More information can be found on the Hanson County Census Page for Hanson County.


Below are some of the communities located in Hanson County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Hanson County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Alexandria   64156313.85% increase  
Emery   49843913.44% increase  
Fulton   988613.95% increase  
Farmer   211816.67% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Cities, Towns and Villages of South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation