Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Hand County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Miller is the Seat for Hand County.

Hand County was founded in 1873 and was created by taking area from BuffaloCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Hand had a population of 3,238 people. This is a decrease of 13.45% since the last Census (which gave a population of 3,741 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Hand represented 0.5% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 44th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20103,431-8.29%+5.96% since 2009
20093,238-13.45%-0.64% since 2008
20083,259-12.88%-0.12% since 2007
20003,741The Last Census

More information can be found on the Hand County Census Page for Hand County.


Below are some of the communities located in Hand County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Hand County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Miller   1,3231,53013.53% decrease  
Northwest Hand   19822712.78% decrease  
Saint Lawrence   17621016.19% decrease  
Ree Heights   738514.12% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Search for a Community located in South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation