Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Faulk County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Faulkton is the Seat for Faulk County.

Faulk County was founded in 1873.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Faulk had a population of 2,210 people. This is a decrease of 16.29% since the last Census (which gave a population of 2,640 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Faulk represented 0.35% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 56th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20102,364-10.45%+6.97% since 2009
20092,210-16.29%-2.9% since 2008
20082,276-13.79%-0.13% since 2007
20002,640The Last Census

More information can be found on the Faulk County Census Page for Faulk County.


Below are some of the communities located in Faulk County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Faulk County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Faulkton   65478516.69% decrease  
Cresbard   11814317.48% decrease  
Southwest Faulk   748613.95% decrease  
Seneca   485817.24% decrease  
Orient   465719.3% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Visit our Community Index for South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation