Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Brule County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Chamberlain is the Seat for Brule County.

Brule County was founded in 1875 and was created by taking area from Charles MixCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Brule had a population of 5,275 people. This is a decrease of 1.66% since the last Census (which gave a population of 5,364 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Brule represented 0.71% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 36th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20105,255-2.03%-0.38% since 2009
20095,275-1.66%+1.36% since 2008
20085,204-2.98%+0.76% since 2007
20005,364The Last Census

More information can be found on the Brule County Census Page for Brule County.


Below are some of the communities located in Brule County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Brule County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Chamberlain   2,2922,3381.97% decrease  
Kimball   7007456.04% decrease  
Pukwana   2852870.7% decrease  
Grandview   31303.33% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation