Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
New York
The Commemorative Quarter for New York

Time Zone: Wyoming County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Warsaw is the Seat for Wyoming County.

Wyoming County was founded in 1841 and was created by taking area from GeneseeCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Wyoming had a population of 41,398 people. This is a decrease of 4.67% since the last Census (which gave a population of 43,424 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Wyoming represented 0.23% of the total population of New York, making it the state's 55th most populous county (out of 62 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201042,155-2.92%+1.83% since 2009
200941,398-4.67%-0.36% since 2008
200841,549-4.32%-0.7% since 2007
200043,424The Last Census

More information can be found on the Wyoming County Census Page for Wyoming County.


Below are some of the communities located in Wyoming County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Wyoming County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Attica   7,4616,02823.77% increase  
Warsaw   5,1375,4235.27% decrease  
Perry   4,5506,65431.62% decrease  
Arcade   3,9594,1845.38% decrease  
Perry   3,6413,9457.71% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About New York

Communities in New York

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation