Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
New Mexico
The Commemorative Quarter for New Mexico

Time Zone: Union County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Clayton is the Seat for Union County.

Union County was founded in 1893. Union was created by taking area from Colfax, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Union had a population of 3,817 people. This is a decrease of 8.55% since the last Census (which gave a population of 4,174 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Union represented 0.23% of the total population of New Mexico, making it the state's 30th most populous county (out of 33 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20104,549+8.98%+19.18% since 2009
20093,817-8.55%+2% since 2008
20083,742-10.35%+0.65% since 2007
20004,174The Last Census

More information can be found on the Union County Census Page for Union County.


Below are some of the communities located in Union County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Union County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Clayton   2,3092,5248.52% decrease  
Des Moines   1631777.91% decrease  
Folsom   677510.67% decrease  
Grenville   23258% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About New Mexico

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for New Mexico

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation