Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
New Mexico
The Commemorative Quarter for New Mexico

Time Zone: San Miguel County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Las Vegas is the Seat for San Miguel County.

San Miguel County is one of the original counties of New Mexico and was founded in 1852.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> San Miguel had a population of 28,323 people. This is a decrease of 5.98% since the last Census (which gave a population of 30,126 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, San Miguel represented 1.66% of the total population of New Mexico, making it the state's 15th most populous county (out of 33 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201029,393-2.43%+3.78% since 2009
200928,323-5.98%-0.25% since 2008
200828,394-5.75%-0.39% since 2007
200030,126The Last Census

More information can be found on the San Miguel County Census Page for San Miguel County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About New Mexico

Communities in New Mexico

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation