Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
New Mexico
The Commemorative Quarter for New Mexico

Time Zone: Otero County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Alamogordo is the Seat for Otero County.

Otero County was founded in 1899. Otero was created by taking area from Dona Ana and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Otero had a population of 63,201 people. This is an increase of 1.45% since the last Census (which gave a population of 62,298 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Otero represented 3.42% of the total population of New Mexico, making it the state's 8th most populous county (out of 33 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201063,797+2.41%+0.94% since 2009
200963,201+1.45%-0.2% since 2008
200062,298The Last Census

More information can be found on the Otero County Census Page for Otero County.


Below are some of the communities located in Otero County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Otero County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Alamogordo   35,96635,5821.08% increase  
Tularosa   3,0312,8645.83% increase  
Cloudcroft   91474922.03% increase  

Websites for Otero County

Official Website:   www.co.otero.nm.us/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Otero County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About New Mexico

Search for a Community located in New Mexico

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation