Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
New Hampshire
The Commemorative Quarter for New Hampshire

Time Zone: Grafton County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Woodsville is the Seat for Grafton County.

Grafton County is one of the original counties of New Hampshire and was founded in 1769.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Grafton had a population of 86,291 people. This is an increase of 5.56% since the last Census (which gave a population of 81,743 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Grafton represented 6.61% of the total population of New Hampshire, making it the state's 5th most populous county (out of 10 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201089,118+9.02%+3.28% since 2009
200886,278+5.55%+0.82% since 2007
200081,743The Last Census

More information can be found on the Grafton County Census Page for Grafton County.


Below are some of the communities located in Grafton County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Grafton County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Lebanon   12,89612,5682.61% increase  
Hanover   11,04210,8501.77% increase  
Plymouth   6,6495,89212.85% increase  
Littleton   6,1575,8455.34% increase  
Enfield   4,8504,6185.02% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About New Hampshire

Search for a New Hampshire Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation