Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Nebraska

Time Zone: Furnas County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Beaver City is the Seat for Furnas County.

Furnas County was founded in 1873.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Furnas had a population of 4,556 people. This is a decrease of 14.43% since the last Census (which gave a population of 5,324 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Furnas represented 0.31% of the total population of Nebraska, making it the state's 57th most populous county (out of 93 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20104,959-6.86%+8.85% since 2009
20094,556-14.43%-0.48% since 2008
20084,578-14.01%-1.65% since 2007
20005,324The Last Census

More information can be found on the Furnas County Census Page for Furnas County.


Below are some of the communities located in Furnas County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Furnas County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Cambridge   9001,04113.54% decrease  
Arapahoe   8681,02815.56% decrease  
Oxford   73687615.98% decrease  
Beaver City   54264115.44% decrease  
Holbrook   19722512.44% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Nebraska

Search for a Community in Nebraska

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation