Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Nebraska

Time Zone: Dawes County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Chadron is the Seat for Dawes County.

Dawes County was founded in 1885 and was created by taking area from SiouxCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Dawes had a population of 8,735 people. This is a decrease of 3.59% since the last Census (which gave a population of 9,060 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Dawes represented 0.53% of the total population of Nebraska, making it the state's 35th most populous county (out of 93 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20109,182+1.35%+5.12% since 2009
20098,735-3.59%+0.49% since 2008
20088,692-4.06%-0.91% since 2007
20009,060The Last Census

More information can be found on the Dawes County Census Page for Dawes County.


Below are some of the communities located in Dawes County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Dawes County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Chadron   5,4375,6343.5% decrease  
Crawford   1,0291,1077.05% decrease  
Whitney   --87 

Websites for Dawes County

Official Website:   www.co.dawes.ne.us/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Dawes County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Nebraska

Search for a Nebraska Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation