Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Stutsman County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Jamestown is the Seat for Stutsman County.

Stutsman County was founded in 1873.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Stutsman had a population of 20,463 people. This is a decrease of 6.6% since the last Census (which gave a population of 21,908 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Stutsman represented 3.41% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 7th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201021,100-3.69%+3.11% since 2009
200920,463-6.6%+0.6% since 2008
200820,340-7.16%-0.53% since 2007
200021,908The Last Census

More information can be found on the Stutsman County Census Page for Stutsman County.


Below are some of the communities located in Stutsman County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Stutsman County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Jamestown   14,68715,5275.41% decrease  
Medina   29833511.04% decrease  
Streeter   15117212.21% decrease  
Kensal   1461619.32% decrease  
Cleveland   10011210.71% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Cities, Towns and Villages of North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation