Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Mercer County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Stanton is the Seat for Mercer County.

Mercer County was founded in 1875.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Mercer had a population of 7,873 people. This is a decrease of 8.92% since the last Census (which gave a population of 8,644 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Mercer represented 1.35% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 15th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20108,424-2.55%+7% since 2009
20087,866-9%-1.27% since 2007
20008,644The Last Census

More information can be found on the Mercer County Census Page for Mercer County.


Below are some of the communities located in Mercer County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Mercer County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Beulah   2,8913,1528.28% decrease  
Hazen   2,2002,45710.46% decrease  
Stanton   30634511.3% decrease  
Zap   2092319.52% decrease  
Golden Valley   16318310.93% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation