Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: LaMoure County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of LaMoure is the Seat for LaMoure County.

LaMoure County was founded in 1873.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> LaMoure had a population of 3,908 people. This is a decrease of 16.87% since the last Census (which gave a population of 4,701 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, LaMoure represented 0.73% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 27th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20104,139-11.95%+5.91% since 2009
20093,908-16.87%-1.61% since 2008
20083,972-15.51%-3.03% since 2007
20004,701The Last Census

More information can be found on the LaMoure County Census Page for LaMoure County.


Below are some of the communities located in LaMoure County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for LaMoure County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
LaMoure   79094416.31% decrease  
Edgeley   51563719.15% decrease  
Kulm   34742217.77% decrease  
Marion   12014617.81% decrease  
Verona   9110815.74% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Communities in North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation