Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Grant County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Carson is the Seat for Grant County.

Grant County was founded in 1916.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Grant had a population of 2,337 people. This is a decrease of 17.74% since the last Census (which gave a population of 2,841 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Grant represented 0.44% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 38th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20102,394-15.73%+2.44% since 2009
20092,337-17.74%-1.85% since 2008
20082,381-16.19%-2.18% since 2007
20002,841The Last Census

More information can be found on the Grant County Census Page for Grant County.


Below are some of the communities located in Grant County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Grant County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
East Grant   58568414.47% decrease  
Elgin   52765920.03% decrease  
West Grant   33140418.07% decrease  
Carson   24731922.57% decrease  
New Leipzig   21527421.53% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Communities in North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation