Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Carolina
The Commemorative Quarter for North Carolina

Time Zone: Watauga County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Boone is the Seat for Watauga County.

Watauga County was founded in 1849. Watauga was created by taking area from Ashe, , and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Watauga had a population of 45,479 people. This is an increase of 6.52% since the last Census (which gave a population of 42,695 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Watauga represented 0.53% of the total population of North Carolina, making it the state's 56th most populous county (out of 100 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201051,079+19.64%+12.31% since 2009
200945,479+6.52%+0.13% since 2008
200845,421+6.38%+1.88% since 2007
200042,695The Last Census

More information can be found on the Watauga County Census Page for Watauga County.


Websites for Watauga County

Official Website:   www.wataugacounty.org/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Watauga County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Carolina

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for North Carolina

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation