Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Carolina
The Commemorative Quarter for North Carolina

Time Zone: Tyrrell County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Columbia is the Seat for Tyrrell County.

Tyrrell County was founded in 1729. Tyrrell was created by taking area from Chowan, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Tyrrell had a population of 4,078 people. This is a decrease of 1.71% since the last Census (which gave a population of 4,149 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Tyrrell represented 0.05% of the total population of North Carolina, making it the state's 100th most populous county (out of 100 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20104,407+6.22%+8.07% since 2009
20094,078-1.71%-0.63% since 2008
20084,104-1.08%-1.32% since 2007
20004,149The Last Census

More information can be found on the Tyrrell County Census Page for Tyrrell County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Carolina

Search for a Community located in North Carolina

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation