Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

Time Zone: Treasure County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Hysham is the Seat for Treasure County.

Treasure County was founded in 1919 and was created by taking area from RosebudCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Treasure had a population of 612 people. This is a decrease of 28.92% since the last Census (which gave a population of 861 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Treasure represented 0.1% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 55th most populous county (out of 56 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
2010718-16.61%+17.32% since 2009
2009612-28.92%-5.85% since 2008
2008650-24.51%-0.61% since 2007
2000861The Last Census

More information can be found on the Treasure County Census Page for Treasure County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

Cities, Towns and Villages of Montana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation