Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

Time Zone: Rosebud County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Forsyth is the Seat for Rosebud County.

Rosebud County was founded in 1901 and was created by taking area from CusterCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Rosebud had a population of 9,258 people. This is a decrease of 1.33% since the last Census (which gave a population of 9,383 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Rosebud represented 1.04% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 23rd most populous county (out of 56 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20109,233-1.6%-0.27% since 2009
20099,258-1.33%+1.18% since 2008
20089,150-2.48%+0.26% since 2007
20009,383The Last Census

More information can be found on the Rosebud County Census Page for Rosebud County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

Cities, Towns and Villages of Montana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation