Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

Time Zone: Teton County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Choteau is the Seat for Teton County.

Teton County was founded in 1893 and was created by taking area from ChouteauCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Teton had a population of 6,088 people. This is a decrease of 5.54% since the last Census (which gave a population of 6,445 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Teton represented 0.71% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 31st most populous county (out of 56 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20106,073-5.77%-0.25% since 2009
20096,088-5.54%-1.35% since 2008
20086,171-4.25%+0.16% since 2007
20006,445The Last Census

More information can be found on the Teton County Census Page for Teton County.


Below are some of the communities located in Teton County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Teton County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Choteau   1,7181,7813.54% decrease  
Fairfield   6546590.76% decrease  
Dutton   3603897.46% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

Search for a Community in Montana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation