Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

Time Zone: Stillwater County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Columbus is the Seat for Stillwater County.

Stillwater County was founded in 1913. Stillwater was created by taking area from Carbon, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Stillwater had a population of 8,786 people. This is an increase of 7.21% since the last Census (which gave a population of 8,195 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Stillwater represented 0.91% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 26th most populous county (out of 56 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20109,117+11.25%+3.77% since 2009
20098,786+7.21%+1.13% since 2008
20088,688+6.02%+0.67% since 2007
20008,195The Last Census

More information can be found on the Stillwater County Census Page for Stillwater County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

Find a Community in Montana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation