Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

Time Zone: Carbon County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Red Lodge is the Seat for Carbon County.

Carbon County was founded in 1895. Carbon was created by taking area from Park and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Carbon had a population of 9,756 people. This is an increase of 2.14% since the last Census (which gave a population of 9,552 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Carbon represented 1.06% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 21st most populous county (out of 56 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201010,078+5.51%+3.3% since 2009
20099,756+2.14%+0.39% since 2008
20089,718+1.74%-0.36% since 2007
20009,552The Last Census

More information can be found on the Carbon County Census Page for Carbon County.


Below are some of the communities located in Carbon County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Carbon County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Red Lodge   2,4832,17714.06% increase  
Bridger   7367451.21% decrease  
Joliet   63957511.13% increase  
Fromberg   4734862.67% decrease  
Bearcreek   84831.2% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

Find a Community located in Montana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation