Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

Time Zone: Richland County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Sidney is the Seat for Richland County.

Richland County was founded in 1914 and was created by taking area from DawsonCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Richland had a population of 9,313 people. This is a decrease of 3.66% since the last Census (which gave a population of 9,667 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Richland represented 1.07% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 20th most populous county (out of 56 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20109,746+0.82%+4.65% since 2009
20099,313-3.66%+1.63% since 2008
20089,164-5.2%+0.71% since 2007
20009,667The Last Census

More information can be found on the Richland County Census Page for Richland County.


Websites for Richland County

Official Website:   www.richland.org/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Richland County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for Montana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation