Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

Time Zone: Dawson County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Glendive is the Seat for Dawson County.

Dawson County was founded in 1865.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Dawson had a population of 8,558 people. This is a decrease of 5.53% since the last Census (which gave a population of 9,059 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Dawson represented 1% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 25th most populous county (out of 56 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20108,966-1.03%+4.77% since 2009
20098,558-5.53%+0.4% since 2008
20088,524-5.91%-0.66% since 2007
20009,059The Last Census

More information can be found on the Dawson County Census Page for Dawson County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

Search for a Montana Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation