Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

Time Zone: Phillips County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Malta is the Seat for Phillips County.

Phillips County was founded in 1915. Phillips was created by taking area from Blaine and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Phillips had a population of 3,944 people. This is a decrease of 14.28% since the last Census (which gave a population of 4,601 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Phillips represented 0.51% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 35th most populous county (out of 56 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20104,253-7.56%+7.83% since 2009
20093,944-14.28%+0.84% since 2008
20083,911-15%-1.04% since 2007
20004,601The Last Census

More information can be found on the Phillips County Census Page for Phillips County.


Below are some of the communities located in Phillips County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Phillips County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Malta   1,8162,12014.34% decrease  
Saco   19122414.73% decrease  
Dodson   10412214.75% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

Cities, Towns and Villages of Montana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation