Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

Time Zone: Meagher County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of White Sulphur Springs is the Seat for Meagher County.

Meagher County was founded in 1867. Meagher was created by taking area from Chouteau and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Meagher had a population of 1,908 people. This is a decrease of 1.24% since the last Census (which gave a population of 1,932 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Meagher represented 0.21% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 48th most populous county (out of 56 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20101,891-2.12%-0.89% since 2009
20091,908-1.24%+0.42% since 2008
20081,900-1.66%-0.89% since 2007
20001,932The Last Census

More information can be found on the Meagher County Census Page for Meagher County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

The Communities of Montana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation