Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

Time Zone: Gallatin County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Bozeman is the Seat for Gallatin County.

Gallatin County is one of the original counties of Montana and was founded in 1864.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Gallatin had a population of 90,343 people. This is an increase of 33.19% since the last Census (which gave a population of 67,831 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Gallatin represented 7.52% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 5th most populous county (out of 56 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201089,513+31.96%-0.92% since 2009
200990,343+33.19%+0.59% since 2008
200889,812+32.41%+2.88% since 2007
200067,831The Last Census

More information can be found on the Gallatin County Census Page for Gallatin County.


Below are some of the communities located in Gallatin County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Gallatin County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Bozeman   39,28227,50942.8% increase  
Belgrade   8,1925,72843.02% increase  
Three Forks   1,9701,72814% increase  
Manhattan   1,6771,39620.13% increase  
West Yellowstone   1,5021,17727.61% increase  

Websites for Gallatin County

Official Website:   www.co.gallatin.mt.us/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Gallatin County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for Montana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation