A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada
Home >> State of Montana >> Lewis and Clark County >> Profile  

Welcome to Lewis and Clark County ...

Time Zone: Lewis and Clark County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Helena is the Seat for Lewis and Clark County. Helena is also the capital of Montana.

Lewis and Clark County is one of the original counties of Montana and was founded in 1864.

From the Census Estimates for 2019, <1> Lewis and Clark had a population of 69,578 people. This is an increase of 9.75% since the last Census (which gave a population of 63,395 people in 2010).

At the time of the 2010 Census, Lewis and Clark represented 6.41% of the total population of Montana.

Websites of Interest ...

  • Of Special Interest ...
    • The GenDisasters website specializes in newspaper articles about tragedies and disasters. While it makes interesting reading all by itself, it should be of special interest to genealogists and family historians looking for people who were either affected by or directly involved in such tragedies.
    • At this time (Dec 2022), GenDisasters website is currently offline due to a hacker attack. Hopefully they will be back soon.

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2010 Census and the next count will be for the 2020 Census.




Copyright 2023
All Rights Reserved

Thank you for visiting our website.

In closing, please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write: Click here to contact us.

This page was last modified/updated: 17 Sep 2023