Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Montana

Time Zone: Garfield County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Jordan is the Seat for Garfield County.

Garfield County was founded in 1919 and was created by taking area from DawsonCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Garfield had a population of 1,173 people. This is a decrease of 8.29% since the last Census (which gave a population of 1,279 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Garfield represented 0.14% of the total population of Montana, making it the state's 51st most populous county (out of 56 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20101,206-5.71%+2.81% since 2009
20091,173-8.29%+1.03% since 2008
20081,161-9.23%-2.68% since 2007
20001,279The Last Census

More information can be found on the Garfield County Census Page for Garfield County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Montana

Cities, Towns and Villages of Montana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation