Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Union County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of New Albany is the Seat for Union County.

Union County was founded in 1870. Union was created by taking area from Lee, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Union had a population of 27,263 people. This is an increase of 7.5% since the last Census (which gave a population of 25,362 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Union represented 0.89% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 39th most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201027,134+6.99%-0.47% since 2009
200927,263+7.5%+0.6% since 2008
200827,100+6.85%+1.04% since 2007
200025,362The Last Census

More information can be found on the Union County Census Page for Union County.


Below are some of the communities located in Union County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Union County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
New Albany   8,1537,6077.18% increase  
Myrtle   56840739.56% increase  
Blue Springs   1551447.64% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

Communities in Mississippi

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation