Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Perry County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of New Augusta is the Seat for Perry County.

Perry County was founded in 1820 and was created by taking area from GreeneCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Perry had a population of 12,035 people. This is a decrease of 0.85% since the last Census (which gave a population of 12,138 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Perry represented 0.43% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 68th most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201012,250+0.92%+1.79% since 2009
200912,035-0.85%-1.47% since 2008
200812,214+0.63%+0.14% since 2007
200012,138The Last Census

More information can be found on the Perry County Census Page for Perry County.


Below are some of the communities located in Perry County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Perry County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Richton   9851,0385.11% decrease  
Beaumont   9559772.25% decrease  
New Augusta   6837154.48% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

Search for a Community in Mississippi

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation