Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Newton County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Decatur is the Seat for Newton County.

Newton County was founded in 1836 and was created by taking area from NeshobaCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Newton had a population of 22,568 people. This is an increase of 3.34% since the last Census (which gave a population of 21,838 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Newton represented 0.77% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 43rd most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201021,720-0.54%-3.76% since 2009
200922,568+3.34%+0.1% since 2008
200021,838The Last Census

More information can be found on the Newton County Census Page for Newton County.


Below are some of the communities located in Newton County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Newton County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Newton   3,6883,6990.3% decrease  
Decatur   1,9321,42635.48% increase  
Hickory   5124992.61% increase  
Lake   4144081.47% increase  
Chunky   3593444.36% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

The Communities of Mississippi

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation