Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Monroe County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Aberdeen is the Seat for Monroe County.

Monroe County was founded in 1821.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Monroe had a population of 36,905 people. This is a decrease of 2.92% since the last Census (which gave a population of 38,014 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Monroe represented 1.34% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 21st most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201036,989-2.7%+0.23% since 2009
200936,905-2.92%-0.62% since 2008
200837,135-2.31%+0.22% since 2007
200038,014The Last Census

More information can be found on the Monroe County Census Page for Monroe County.


Below are some of the communities located in Monroe County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Monroe County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Amory   7,1606,9562.93% increase  
Aberdeen   6,0016,4156.45% decrease  
Smithville   8578822.83% decrease  
Hatley   4594763.57% decrease  
Gattman   --114 

Websites for Monroe County

Official Website:   www.monroecountyms.org

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Monroe County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

Find a Community within Mississippi

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation