Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Lincoln County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Brookhaven is the Seat for Lincoln County.

Lincoln County was founded in 1870. Lincoln was created by taking area from Amite, , , and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Lincoln had a population of 34,830 people. This is an increase of 5.02% since the last Census (which gave a population of 33,166 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Lincoln represented 1.17% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 28th most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201034,869+5.13%+0.11% since 2009
200934,830+5.02%+0.52% since 2008
200834,650+4.47%+0.98% since 2007
200033,166The Last Census

More information can be found on the Lincoln County Census Page for Lincoln County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

Communities in Mississippi

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation