Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Franklin County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Meadville is the Seat for Franklin County.

Franklin County was founded in 1809 and was created by taking area from AdamsCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Franklin had a population of 8,324 people. This is a decrease of 1.47% since the last Census (which gave a population of 8,448 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Franklin represented 0.3% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 79th most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20108,118-3.91%-2.47% since 2009
20098,324-1.47%-0.17% since 2008
20088,338-1.3%+0.11% since 2007
20008,448The Last Census

More information can be found on the Franklin County Census Page for Franklin County.


Below are some of the communities located in Franklin County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Franklin County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Bude   1,0141,0372.22% decrease  
Roxie   5565692.28% decrease  
Meadville   4925195.2% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

Find a Community located in Mississippi

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation