Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Jones County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Laurel is the Seat for Jones County.

Jones County was founded in 1826.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Jones had a population of 67,776 people. This is an increase of 4.34% since the last Census (which gave a population of 64,958 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Jones represented 2.28% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 10th most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
200967,776+4.34%+0.46% since 2008
200867,466+3.86%+0.92% since 2007
200064,958The Last Census

More information can be found on the Jones County Census Page for Jones County.


Below are some of the communities located in Jones County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Jones County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Laurel   18,85518,3932.51% increase  
Ellisville   4,4693,46528.98% increase  
Sandersville   8137893.04% increase  
Soso   3893792.64% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

Cities, Towns and Villages of Mississippi

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation