Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Jefferson County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Fayette is the Seat for Jefferson County.

Jefferson County was founded in 1799.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Jefferson had a population of 8,928 people. This is a decrease of 8.34% since the last Census (which gave a population of 9,740 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Jefferson represented 0.34% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 77th most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20107,726-20.68%-13.46% since 2009
20098,928-8.34%+0.44% since 2008
20088,889-8.74%-1.04% since 2007
20009,740The Last Census

More information can be found on the Jefferson County Census Page for Jefferson County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

Search for a Mississippi Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation