Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Attala County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Kosciusko is the Seat for Attala County.

Attala County was founded in 1833 and was created by taking area from MadisonCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Attala had a population of 19,755 people. This is an increase of 0.48% since the last Census (which gave a population of 19,661 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Attala represented 0.69% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 49th most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201019,564-0.49%-0.97% since 2009
200919,755+0.48%+0.28% since 2008
200819,700+0.2%+0.67% since 2007
200019,661The Last Census

More information can be found on the Attala County Census Page for Attala County.


Below are some of the communities located in Attala County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Attala County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Kosciusko   7,3487,3720.33% decrease  
Ethel   4604521.77% increase  
McCool   1921825.49% increase  
Sallis   1101143.51% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for Mississippi

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation