Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Missouri

Time Zone: Newton County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Neosho is the Seat for Newton County.

Newton County was founded in 1838 and was created by taking area from BarryCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Newton had a population of 56,121 people. This is an increase of 6.62% since the last Census (which gave a population of 52,636 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Newton represented 0.94% of the total population of Missouri, making it the state's 17th most populous county (out of 115 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201058,114+10.41%+3.55% since 2009
200956,121+6.62%+0.25% since 2008
200855,981+6.35%-0.1% since 2007
200052,636The Last Census

More information can be found on the Newton County Census Page for Newton County.


Below are some of the communities located in Newton County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Newton County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Neosho   11,25510,5057.14% increase  
Seneca   2,2512,1355.43% increase  
Granby   2,2282,1215.04% increase  
Leawood   9569045.75% increase  
Diamond   89380710.66% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Missouri

Find a Community within Missouri

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation