Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Missouri

Time Zone: Jasper County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Carthage is the Seat for Jasper County.

Jasper County was founded in 1841 and was created by taking area from BarryCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Jasper had a population of 118,179 people. This is an increase of 12.89% since the last Census (which gave a population of 104,686 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Jasper represented 1.87% of the total population of Missouri, making it the state's 8th most populous county (out of 115 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
2010117,404+12.15%-0.66% since 2009
2009118,179+12.89%+1.32% since 2008
2008116,634+11.41%+1.44% since 2007
2000104,686The Last Census

More information can be found on the Jasper County Census Page for Jasper County.


Below are some of the communities located in Jasper County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Jasper County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Joplin   50,20845,50410.34% increase  
Carthage   14,05512,66810.95% increase  
Webb City   11,6769,81219% increase  
Carl Junction   7,4505,29440.73% increase  
Oronogo   2,193976124.7% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Missouri

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for Missouri

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation