Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Missouri

Time Zone: Douglas County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Ava is the Seat for Douglas County.

Douglas County was founded in 1857 and was created by taking area from OzarkCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Douglas had a population of 13,608 people. This is an increase of 4% since the last Census (which gave a population of 13,084 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Douglas represented 0.23% of the total population of Missouri, making it the state's 76th most populous county (out of 115 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201013,684+4.59%+0.56% since 2009
200913,608+4%+0.18% since 2008
200813,584+3.82%+1.18% since 2007
200013,084The Last Census

More information can be found on the Douglas County Census Page for Douglas County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Missouri

Find a Community within Missouri

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation