Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Missouri

Time Zone: Ozark County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Gainesville is the Seat for Ozark County.

Ozark County was founded in 1841 and was created by taking area from TaneyCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Ozark had a population of 9,315 people. This is a decrease of 2.38% since the last Census (which gave a population of 9,542 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Ozark represented 0.17% of the total population of Missouri, making it the state's 91st most populous county (out of 115 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20109,723+1.9%+4.38% since 2009
20099,315-2.38%-0.76% since 2008
20089,386-1.63%+0.28% since 2007
20009,542The Last Census

More information can be found on the Ozark County Census Page for Ozark County.


Below are some of the communities located in Ozark County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Ozark County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Gainesville   5966325.7% decrease  
Bakersfield   2802851.75% decrease  
Theodosia   2522405% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Missouri

Visit our Community Index for Missouri

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation