Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Minnesota

Time Zone: Marshall County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Warren is the Seat for Marshall County.

Marshall County was founded in 1879 and was created by taking area from KittsonCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Marshall had a population of 9,184 people. This is a decrease of 9.56% since the last Census (which gave a population of 10,155 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Marshall represented 0.21% of the total population of Minnesota, making it the state's 70th most populous county (out of 87 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20109,439-7.05%+2.78% since 2009
20099,184-9.56%-1.37% since 2008
20089,312-8.3%-1.2% since 2007
200010,155The Last Census

More information can be found on the Marshall County Census Page for Marshall County.


Below are some of the communities located in Marshall County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Marshall County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Warren   1,5061,67810.25% decrease  
Stephen   61570813.14% decrease  
Argyle   57865611.89% decrease  
Alvarado   33137110.78% decrease  
Newfolden   3263629.94% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Minnesota

Search for a Minnesota Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation