Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Minnesota

Time Zone: Kittson County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Hallock is the Seat for Kittson County.

Kittson County was founded in 1879 and was created by taking area from County.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Kittson had a population of 4,374 people. This is a decrease of 17.24% since the last Census (which gave a population of 5,285 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Kittson represented 0.11% of the total population of Minnesota, making it the state's 82nd most populous county (out of 87 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20104,552-13.87%+4.07% since 2009
20094,374-17.24%-1.42% since 2008
20084,437-16.05%-1% since 2007
20005,285The Last Census

More information can be found on the Kittson County Census Page for Kittson County.


Below are some of the communities located in Kittson County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Kittson County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Hallock   9981,19616.56% decrease  
Karlstad   66079416.88% decrease  
Lancaster   30036317.36% decrease  
Kennedy   20625519.22% decrease  
Lake Bronson   19224621.95% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Minnesota

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for Minnesota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation