Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Maine

Time Zone: Franklin County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Farmington is the Seat for Franklin County.

Franklin County was founded in 1838. Franklin was created by taking area from Kennebec, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Franklin had a population of 29,735 people. This is an increase of 0.91% since the last Census (which gave a population of 29,467 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Franklin represented 2.31% of the total population of Maine, making it the state's 15th most populous county (out of 16 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201030,768+4.42%+3.47% since 2009
200929,735+0.91%-0.11% since 2008
200029,467The Last Census

More information can be found on the Franklin County Census Page for Franklin County.


Below are some of the communities located in Franklin County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Franklin County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Farmington   7,5547,4101.94% increase  
Jay   4,7414,9854.89% decrease  
Wilton   4,1474,1230.58% increase  
New Sharon   1,4111,2978.79% increase  
Chesterville   1,2571,1707.44% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Maine

Search for a Community located in Maine

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation