Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Massachusetts

Time Zone: Bristol County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Taunton is the Seat for Bristol County.

Bristol County is one of the original counties of Massachusetts and was founded in 1685.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Bristol had a population of 547,433 people. This is an increase of 2.39% since the last Census (which gave a population of 534,678 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Bristol represented 8.42% of the total population of Massachusetts, making it the state's 6th most populous county (out of 14 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
2010548,285+2.54%+0.16% since 2009
2009547,433+2.39%+0.3% since 2008
2008545,810+2.08%+0.24% since 2007
2000534,678The Last Census

More information can be found on the Bristol County Census Page for Bristol County.


Below are some of the communities located in Bristol County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Bristol County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
New Bedford   91,05393,7682.9% decrease  
Fall River   90,82691,9381.21% decrease  
Taunton   55,77855,9760.35% decrease  
Attleboro   43,55442,0683.53% increase  
Dartmouth   34,42130,66612.24% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Massachusetts

Communities in Massachusetts

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation